Travel Talk – Episode 1

Never in 1 million years did I think I would ever willingly spend an hour hosting a live stream on YouTube, with all my awkward quirks fully on show, but that’s exactly what I did on Friday. Myself and my friend and fellow photography enthusiast Krissy have been thinking of ways to get our photography out there, and we stumbled upon the idea of live streaming. At first, we were both apprehensive. It’s not something either of us is used to. As I always say, I’m much happier behind the camera than in front of it! Despite our nerves, we sat down and began talking to each other, and the world…

youtubetumbep1

In this episode, Krissy and I discussed all things travel, photography and blogging, answering questions we both had written, and a few that were sent in via WordPress, Twitter and Instagram – thank you to everyone who got involved! Here are some of the questions and answers from the live stream – I have edited them slightly for clarity:

Q: If you could live in any country in the world, where would you live and why?

Krissy: There are two places I feel quite drawn to. One is America. I’ve always had this feeling that I should be there. The other is New Zealand. There’s so much greenery!

Q: What “delicacies” wouldn’t you like to try abroad?

Krissy: Snails. I did eat a cricket once. It was disgusting.
Corinne: I find it so weird that it’s normal in other countries.
Krissy: They eat spiders, scorpions…
Corinne: I think I’d just puke.
Krissy: I’ll just stick to my cheesy puff crisps!
Corinne: I don’t understand why anyone would eat something that’s dangerous and could kill them. That’s just insane. I couldn’t eat anything that’s alive! That’s just brutal.

Q: What travel related tattoos would you like to get?

Corinne: Well, I really want to go and see the Northern Lights. I would get a mountain scene, kind of in an oval frame, with the Northern Lights across the night’s sky in the background.
Krissy: I don’t know what I’d get done, to be honest. If I did get a tattoo it would have to be of somewhere I really liked, like a little souvenir.
Corinne: If you got it in the place you were at, that would be pretty cool.

tumblr_o7y09fzlpi1v08c0zo1_1280

Q: Where do you see yourself in five years?

Corinne: Well, realistically, living alone with 25 cats! Where I would hope to be in five years would be actually earning something from my travel photography, travelling to more places in the world and being able to say I’d been to a good amount of the places I wanted to go to. Feeling more free with life, like more happy and more content. I’d like to be braver in five years.

Q: If you could travel with any celebrity, who would you choose?

Krissy: Johnny Depp!
Corinne: Johnny Depp, if you’re watching, go on holiday with Krissy! She’s really cool. You’d really like her!

Q: Any advice for social media success?

Corinne: While I don’t classify myself as successful on social media, but what has worked for me is having an active presence on many different platforms: Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, WordPress, Tumblr, Flickr. I’ve got all of those. As many places as you can get your name and your work out there, I would say it’s worth it.
Krissy: Yeah, go for it!

Q: What made you decide to start blogging/vlogging?

Krissy: For me, I’m very much the “Mother Earth” girl. I guess it’s my way to show to the world how I see the world, because it’s very beautiful. People concentrate too much on war and hatred, and all the negative stuff, and I like to show the beauty of the world – how amazing it really is.
Corinne: That’s the best answer that anyone could have given for that question! High five for that one! *high five* I don’t really do, like, the vlogging. Mine’s more blogging and photography. I got my camera just over a year ago and thought about where I would like to go and take photographs, and it kind of went on from there. I was walking down the beach one day and thought “I want to do something with this. I want to share these memories.” I came home and started blogging later that day.
Krissy: That’s kind of the same for me. I want to look back when I’m old and be like “Wow!”

Q: What would you be willing to give up in order to travel?

Krissy: That’s a good question. If I had the money, I would just shut off for a bit. I’d give up everything, leave the U.K., sell everything and just have a rucksack, a tent, and just… travel!
Corinne: I don’t think I would be someone who would live my whole life out of a backpack, because I like to have a base. Somewhere to come back to. If I could make money from travel blogging and photography, I might be willing to give up my job, but I have no plans to do that right now. I would give up attachments to people and things I probably should have given up a long time ago. I’d give up negativity and sadness!

Q: What is the most frustrating thing about trying to get your work noticed?

Krissy: I would like people to buy my work. It would be nice! As much as it’s nice that people like your work or join your page… people don’t buy anything!
Corinne: Yeah, we have to fund our lifestyle!
Krissy: It’s just hard to get yourself out there.

Q: What photographic skill would you most like to perfect?

Corinne: I would really like to learn how to do long exposure shots. You know, where the waves look really smooth. I’d like to work out how to do that on my camera.

screenshot1

To watch the entire episode, click here! We answer a lot more questions and tell some strange travel stories!

The next episode of Travel Talk will be live streamed at some point in October. Stay tuned and keep submitting your questions.

One thought on “Travel Talk – Episode 1

Leave a Reply

