Norway, or No Way?

So, I’ve been going on and on and on about my upcoming trip to Bergen in Norway. I’ve placed so much on this trip; I thought that getting some beautiful shots to post on here, along with tales of my adventures might kick my blog up a notch and actually get me noticed… Tonight, I received some devastating news. My trip is cancelled. My friends have pulled out due to unforeseen circumstances, which means I too have to miss out on my dream holiday. I can’t even tell you how disappointed I am as it’s hard to actually find the words to express it, but, I will not let a setback like this stand in the way of reaching my dream. As soon as I hung up the phone, my initial thoughts were not about how I was going to go off and cry in a corner. My mind instantly started thinking of what I could do to make this happen regardless.

At first, I considered going it alone. Many people travel alone. Many people are not me… I am painfully anxious most of the time, and as much as I daydream about going on adventures by myself, I know I’m not brave enough to do that yet. So, how can I find new travel buddies? A lot of my friends have commitments that would make it impossible to join me on my trip, and I’m finding it hard to think of someone to ask out of the people I know. I may have found one person who would go, if she can get childcare, but I can’t really expect this to actually be an option.

I headed over to a forum to find a travel buddy. I also put out a desperate call on Tumblr, but honestly, I’m super wary of finding travel buddies online. I’ve met lunatics before in the times of online dating, and we’ve all watched Catfish… I don’t really fancy getting chopped to bits in a wood by a serial killer I met online, or turn up to the airport only to find out that the lovely ‘Jenny’ is actually a 60 year old man whose idea of a dream holiday is far seedier than mine. So, what are my real options? Maybe one of you lovely people could help me (that’s a hint, by the way). Maybe I just need to get over my fear of social interaction and ask around. I don’t know! All I can say is, no matter what it takes, I will take you to Norway, dear readers! It might not be this October, but I am not going to stop until I find someone to go with who actually intends to see the plans through and not bail out on me at the last minute.

P.S. If any of you have any advice, or know of a way I can find a genuine companion, please get in touch! I will love you forever.

Leave a comment